Art and Craft Stall Part 1- Mini Market Bags

We are planning an Art & Craft stall at my daughter’s school to be held in late October. I always get super excited about these events and love coming up with ideas of things to make.

Nothing takes me to my happy place more than time spent crafting with a group of friends. We recently had a whole day of crafting and I was more than thrilled when my friend’s 10 year old daughter asked me to teach her to crochet. I was working on some market bags so I thought I would teach her to make one and that’s how I came up with the idea of mini market bags.

Pattern

Ch4, join with a slip stitch to form a ring

Round 1: Ch3, work 12 dc into the ring. Do not join

Round 2: Work 2 dc in each doc around. Do not join (24dc)

image

image

Round 3: Work 2dc in the first do, 1dc in the next. Repeat patterne around until you have 36 dc. Join with a slip stitch.

image

Round 4: Ch4

image

[Skip 2 stitches, sc in next stitch, Ch 4] repeat around. You should have 12 ch4 loops.

image

Round 5 onwards: Continue working around using ch4, sc into ch4 loops from previous round until you reach your desired height finishing with a ch4. I used 7 rounds.

image

image

Work 3 sc in each ch 4 loop around.

image

Ch 20

image

Skip 8 sc, sc in the next

image

Sc in next 7, then ch 20. Skip 8 sc, sc in the next to join the handle to the bag.

image

Sc around the entire top of the bag, including the handles. Join with a slip stitch to finish.

image

And there we have our mini market bag. It’s perfect for carrying small gifts such as chocolates or even a Xmas ornament..

image

Leave a Reply

