How to Train your Dragon Crochet Tutu Dress

I’m back! I’ve had a rest from blogging for the past three weeks but I’ve continued to crochet in the background.

Today I’m pretty excited to show you my latest project. I needed to come up with an idea for a little girl’s 4th birthday present. The theme of the party is How to Train Your Dragon. I immediately thought of the character, Astrid.

image

I decided to make something a little different and came up with an Astrid tutu dress. I crocheted the bodice using my favourite bodice pattern from bustingstitches.com

I used:

Moda Vera Gelato in red – acrylic cotton blend available from Spotlight

4.5mm crochet hook

Ribtex Tulle Ribbon – 1 roll of black and 2 rolls of bronze glitter

8 ply acrylic in white

1cm wide red ribbon to tie back.

i used the pattern for a 5-7 year old as the cotton blend has a bit less stretch in it. It will probably be on the big side but that gives her more opportunity to wear it for longer.

image

image

image

It’s a bit tricky to see but the white crocheted pieces are skulls(!). I used this pattern to make the skulls. I wasn’t really sure if I liked the skulls but they can easily be removed if needed.

So there you have my Astrid crochet tutu dress fit for a warrior princess!

Leave a Reply

