DAY 36: Mum’s the word

Let me tell you the story of how I learnt to crochet. When I was a little girl, every time I was unwell my mum would tuck me up on the couch with a granny square crochet blanket that she had made as a little girl. When I was starting to feel a bit better she taught me how to crochet and I added a round to her granny square blanket. On a couple of occasions I was unwell, I continued to add to the same blanket.

it was probably a good 20 years later when I was pregnant with my own little girl that I decided to teach myself to crochet again, always remembering the pleasure it brought me as a child.

Mum is more of a knitter these days and often asks me to crochet things for her ( which kind of hasn’t happened a lot yet!). I recently made her a crochet bolero top and yesterday received the following email from her:

Hi,

I wore this to quilting yesterday and everyone liked it, maybe you could use this on your web site

Mum

Good idea! So here is a crochet bolero made using 8ply cotton/acrylic blend yarn, a size 3cm hook and a pattern from Garn studio

image

Leave a Reply

