DAY 33: National Sorry Day 2015

National Sorry Day is held on 26 May each year to acknowledge and recognise members of the Stolen Generations. The Stolen Generations refers to the thousands of aboriginal children who were forcibly removed from their families.

As a mother, I can not comprehend having my children taken away from me. I can only imagine the pain and heartache it must have caused – the effects of which are still evident today.

To commemorate National Sorry Day, I have a work in progress. I’m not sure exactly where I’m going with this piece, but the big hand represents me, the mother, reaching for my children represented by the two smaller hands. I was hoping to crochet each of our hands to scale but I ran out of time and it also looked a bit odd when my 11 year old’s hand was bigger than mine!

image

Leave a Reply

